Load64

General Category => Other MODs => Topic started by: Remzi on August 13, 2018, 03:09:27 PM

Title: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: Remzi on August 13, 2018, 03:09:27 PM
If you don't want to mod your datasette,check out 1530USB Adapter (https://www.load64.com/1530usb/) also this USB Tape Interface (https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/133570204433).

This mod requires some soldering skills.

You will be able to load games to your C64 using a PC,phone,tablet or MP3 player.
You can backup your original cassette tapes to your PC.
You can record games to blank cassette tapes.

(http://www.load64.com/up/done.jpg)

These instructions for the datasette with the board code HCT-4 94HB NP-090B
If you have a different board,post a picture of it.I will have a look if I have the same one.

LINE OUT

(http://www.load64.com/up/Lineout.jpg)

Line out mod is for backing up/dumping cassette tapes to your PC.You can save it as wav with Audacity or convert it to tap with Audiotap.
You need to plug this into your PC's microphone in port.If you have a Line-in instead you might need to lower the resistance.
You will need a 100nF capacitor and a 22K resistor.If you open up an old radio,PC speakers or any audio equipment,you can salvage these parts.

LINE IN for LOADING

(http://www.load64.com/up/lineinl.jpg)

Line in mod is for loading games to your C64 from an audio source.
You can plug in to your PC's speaker out and use the Audiotap or WAV-PRG  to load sotware to C64.

LINE IN for RECORDING

(http://www.load64.com/up/lineinr.jpg)

This mod is for recording games to cassette tapes.Straight solder on job.No components needed.
Plug this into your PC's speaker output port.

If you want all above mods on your datasette,there will be 3X3.5mm audio jacks coming out of it.
If you have a newish laptop with mic and speaker combined;

(https://support.lenovo.com/us/en/solutions/~/media/Images/ContentImages/c/combo_jack_photo.ashx?w=361&h=182)

You can use a 4 pole 3.5mm connector for Line-out and Line-in for loading.But you still need another connector for the Line-in for recording.
A simple SPDT switch can be installed on the datasette marked as LOAD and RECORD.I will try to find other solutions to avoid drilling the datasette.


Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: whodan on August 14, 2018, 08:08:18 AM
Thank you for your excellent description. I will make 3 audio female connector on the datasette.
But the 1530usb adapter is also a wonderful idea.I will cover it again with epoxy resin,to yuse it.
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: whodan on August 17, 2018, 04:27:14 PM
Thank you for your excellent description. I will make 3 audio female connector on the datasette.
But the 1530usb adapter is also a wonderful idea.I will cover it again with epoxy resin,to use it.
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: nathan1974au on August 20, 2018, 01:12:42 AM
2x mono female jacks would be nicer when drilled in the case!
 
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: whodan on August 29, 2018, 03:03:55 PM
Hello Remzi,

I hope, you had wonderful holidays and noew I can send you my expirience about USB1530 and the direct Connections in the
datasette without the USB Soundcard.

My tests with the USB soundcard were were closed positively. I tested the recording from tape to .tap and the recording
from .tap to tape. In both directions, I've got on my C64 a positiv result.

I also made the solderconnections on the pcb of the datasette and had problems.
First I don't want to go out of the datasette with jack plug cables. Jack plug sockets I cannot insert in the housing, because there's no
place to go out, where the housing has a straight surface.

I tried it with two jack plug sockets on cables, but I could not close the housing, because I didn't want to drill holes and the
solution to make a hole in the sealing of the Datasette cable I didn't want.

Bit I think the 1530USB is a very simple and very good solution to make the copies.
So I use this one.But thank you for the news with the soldering connections.

best regards

Wolfgang
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: Remzi on September 02, 2018, 02:38:06 PM
If you don't want cables coming out of your datasette or you don't want to drill holes,you can install a bluetooth adapter inside your datasette.I will write up the instructions when I find some spare time.
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: Kenobi on April 02, 2020, 09:16:27 PM
Hello, first of all, thanks for your excellent work for Commodore crew. I have my own one almost 25 yers :-) I want to try this mod for my Noris DR-1535 but I haven't skill to read schematics. I found on another forum your post with picture of DR-1535 board (attached bellow), it's the same as mine. Could you help me please with solution of soldering right ones pins of the board? Thank you very much. Martin.

(https://i.ibb.co/ccDtBGv/3732297900-1545334489.jpg) (https://ibb.co/ccDtBGv)


(https://i.ibb.co/2yLWjsK/IMG-20200402-213113-result.jpg) (https://ibb.co/2yLWjsK)
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: Remzi on April 03, 2020, 11:57:25 AM
Hi Kenobi.Welcome to the forum.

Load and run the program Recorder Justage (https://csdb.dk/release/?id=118616) on your C64.


(https://i.ibb.co/NC8Vyg0/dm640.jpg) (https://ibb.co/NC8Vyg0)


Solder your 3.5mm jack plug to the points on the photo above.
Do not use a capacitor or resistor.I have a similar board and it gives 1.7V at that pin.I don't think it can damage your audio source device.

Plug it in to a phone or tablet and go to the website

www.load64.com

Start the stream and adjust the volume to %80 on your device.

Check with recorder justage to see if you get a good signal.
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: Kenobi on April 04, 2020, 03:14:42 PM
Hi Remzi, thank you.
I tried as you adviced but nothing signal arrived to C64. My cheap multimeter at range 200V AC was able to get 3,4V at this pin before I solder cable with 3,5mm jack. I don't know if it is proper way to get relevant data with this type of multimeter due it's AC voltage with another sinus than 50Hz. Have you any idea how to solve it? Thank you for reply, Martin.

(https://i.ibb.co/5Ty853X/IMG-20200403-211010-result.jpg) (https://ibb.co/5Ty853X)
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: Remzi on April 06, 2020, 07:29:44 PM
I think I found the reason.Here is my board


(https://i.ibb.co/LpTQWLR/tape.jpg) (https://ibb.co/LpTQWLR)


My opamp is in the opposite orientation.So try this instead,


(https://i.ibb.co/nw59R7W/new.jpg) (https://ibb.co/nw59R7W)


If you don't get any signal,try a 100nf capacitor.

P.S. There is no AC voltage on the datasette.5V DC is used on the board,6V DC powers the motor.
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: Kenobi on April 07, 2020, 12:15:48 AM
I'm not sure if is in the opposite orientation. I did make a better photos and do some "investigation" :-). Hope it's right but with schematics of opamp and his function I'm not sure yet. Can you look at this please and tell me if your previous suggestion is right? Thank you.

(https://i.ibb.co/tJyMkMy/Datasette.jpg) (https://ibb.co/tJyMkMy)

Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: Remzi on April 09, 2020, 04:22:44 PM
I went through my tape decks and found the one with the same board as yours.After trying all the pins,I found the setup below works great.


(https://i.ibb.co/RhsgvHP/new1.jpg) (https://ibb.co/RhsgvHP)


Have a look at the video I made

Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: Kenobi on April 09, 2020, 05:59:52 PM
Oh, it's great, thank you very much. I will try to get some 100nF capacitor but due Coronavirus emergency state in our country it is hard now. Most shops are closed. Thank's again I will post a result when I'm done.
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: Kenobi on April 14, 2020, 07:54:46 PM
Hi Remzi,
so mod is working now for me but still persist some issue. Sometimes the game was loaded fine, sometimes not. I found out that it is dependent on phone type and on sound quality of device maybe. Look at this video please and tell me if you think that signal is good. I saw some artefacts or noise. Can it be problem? What kind of adjustment can fix it? But I must thank you again, this is good step forward :-)


Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: Remzi on April 15, 2020, 07:36:14 AM

(https://i.ibb.co/Gvhnm0s/lines.png) (https://ibb.co/Gvhnm0s)


You need to get those lines thinner same as the photo above by turning up the volume.
Turn off the bluetooth,WI-FI on your phone.Try the airplane mode.
Also place the datasette away from the TV.Turn off the fridge,don't sneeze and stop breathing  ;D

I'm messing about with the website at the moment.You can use the links below

www.load64.com/a
www.load64.com/b
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: cbmx on May 21, 2020, 11:40:22 PM
merhaba
bu resimdeki bord resmini netten buldum. Bendeki bordun aynısı, yükle işlemini başarılı bir şekilde yaptım, fakat kasede kayıt yapmak için hangi pinlere lehim yapmam gerekiyor bulamadım.
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: Remzi on May 22, 2020, 09:30:35 AM
Merhaba,hosgeldiniz.
Elimde bu board'dan var.Pazar gunu kasete kayit yapmayi deneyip sonuclari burada paylasirim.
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: cbmx on May 22, 2020, 07:38:21 PM
hoşbuldum
teşekkür ederim
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: Remzi on May 24, 2020, 08:08:04 PM

(https://i.ibb.co/Fgh8ZxY/ds1-sm.jpg) (https://ibb.co/Fgh8ZxY)



Direnc veya kondansator kullanmadan,direk isaretli pinlere baglanti yapabilirsin.

Buradaki oyunlardan (http://www.load64.com/r/originals/) Commando'yu kaydedip denedim,sorunsuz calisti.

Kayit yaparken sesini sonuna kadar ac.Kasetten C64'e yuklerken,kayit yaparken kullandigin ses kaynagini kapatmayi unutma.
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: cbmx on May 24, 2020, 09:03:19 PM
hemen deneyeceğim, bilgi için teşekkürler  :)
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: Wakd21 on September 29, 2020, 02:36:12 AM
I have a Mode 1530 board and I cannot see where to solder the wire for ground and left.
(https://i.ibb.co/sg7r70b/20200928-235106.jpg) (https://ibb.co/sg7r70b)

(https://i.ibb.co/3yTx3k8/20200928-234933.jpg) (https://ibb.co/3yTx3k8)
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: Remzi on September 30, 2020, 05:36:58 PM
I marked the LEFT and GND on the photo below.
You need to use a 100nf capacitor or a 100K resistor.

>(https://i.ibb.co/rt5gYGL/20200928-234933.jpg) (https://ibb.co/rt5gYGL)
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: backtogeek on December 14, 2020, 10:57:05 AM
Thanks from the future :)

I was looking for a similar board to mine after finding another guide and found this one, is a 100kohm resistor required on the left for this as other guides have suggested?
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: backtogeek on December 14, 2020, 11:32:44 AM
actually, I re-read everything and found more info in this post too.

I did not have any ceramic caps so I put a 0.1uF electrolytic capacitor on instead, positive side soldered to the board.

This time it came up saying "found file"

However it did not ultimately load even the intro screen, i will experiment a bit further and update for other future people.
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: backtogeek on December 14, 2020, 01:53:18 PM
Ok all working:
(https://i.imgur.com/5R1uPKP.jpg)
(https://i.imgur.com/KIkCACk.jpg)
(https://i.imgur.com/UfwzRX8.jpg)

Little youtube video pre-cable tidy:


I hope that perhaps helps someone in the future.
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: Remzi on December 14, 2020, 03:31:30 PM
That's a grand job mate  ;)
Thanks for posting your results.
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: backtogeek on December 14, 2020, 04:38:25 PM
That's a grand job mate  ;)
Thanks for posting your results.

Thanks, I don't suppose you are aware of anything like tapdancer or CDT2WAV (Amstrad cpc464 equivalent mod) that runs on PC/Windows (or linux) ?

It would save a lot of effort and steps if I did not need to convert every single game to wav first.
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: backtogeek on December 14, 2020, 07:00:40 PM
I just got another old one out of my junk box, the heads are gone on this one, it shows absolutely nothing when running any tape head alignment so I might as well do the same to this one as it will never read tapes again.

I cant seem to identify the left on it though, any ideas?

(https://i.imgur.com/Yc7UxJb.jpg)
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: backtogeek on December 16, 2020, 09:47:10 PM
Sorry for the bump, anyone got any ideas on the board above before I buy an oscilloscope :)
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: Remzi on December 17, 2020, 08:10:21 AM
I need to check my tape decks to find one with the same board.
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: backtogeek on December 17, 2020, 09:39:15 AM
I need to check my tape decks to find one with the same board.

Not sure if it helps, just now took a picture of the under side:

(https://i.imgur.com/2qV3ilI.png)

I can't even find a schematic for it here: http://www.zimmers.net/anonftp/pub/cbm/schematics/datassette/index.html

If there is another method of finding the pin I am happy to give it a try, I don't have an oscilloscope, I will make sure to share the answer here if/when I find it.
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: Remzi on December 29, 2020, 04:21:44 PM

(https://i.ibb.co/X2ps2sB/Yc7UxJb.jpg) (https://ibb.co/X2ps2sB)


I managed to get good signal from that pin in the photo using a 100nf capacitor.You might also use a 100k resistor instead.
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: backtogeek on December 30, 2020, 10:51:29 PM

(https://i.ibb.co/X2ps2sB/Yc7UxJb.jpg) (https://ibb.co/X2ps2sB)


I managed to get good signal from that pin in the photo using a 100nf capacitor.You might also use a 100k resistor instead.

Brilliant, I really appreciate that!

I have plenty of 0.1uf electrolytic caps which seem to work fine also on other boards
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: arkeine on January 20, 2021, 05:18:08 PM
merhaba
bu resimdeki bord resmini netten buldum. Bendeki bordun aynısı, yükle işlemini başarılı bir şekilde yaptım, fakat kasede kayıt yapmak için hangi pinlere lehim yapmam gerekiyor bulamadım.
Merhaba, eski bir c64 kullanıcısı olarak ben de bu modifikasyonu yapmaya çalışıyorum.
Yükleme işlemi için hangi lehim şemasını kullanacağız acaba? aynı board bende de var (1531).
Teşekkürler.
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: arkeine on January 20, 2021, 05:31:51 PM

(https://i.ibb.co/tYw1ymS/datasette1531-1.jpg) (https://ibb.co/tYw1ymS)

(https://i.ibb.co/RNFKW4p/datasette1531-2.jpg) (https://ibb.co/RNFKW4p)
merhaba
bu resimdeki bord resmini netten buldum. Bendeki bordun aynısı, yükle işlemini başarılı bir şekilde yaptım, fakat kasede kayıt yapmak için hangi pinlere lehim yapmam gerekiyor bulamadım.
Merhaba, eski bir c64 kullanıcısı olarak ben de bu modifikasyonu yapmaya çalışıyorum.
Yükleme işlemi için hangi lehim şemasını kullanacağız acaba? aynı board bende de var (1531).
Teşekkürler.
kartın iki yüzünün fotoğraflarını da ekliyorum.
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: Remzi on January 21, 2021, 12:59:47 PM
Selam.Yapman gereken baglantilari asagidaki semada bulabilirsin.

(https://www.load64.com/up/1531.jpg)

Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: arkeine on January 21, 2021, 04:41:09 PM
Çok teşekkürler, kondansatörü edinir edinmez deneyeceğim.
Video da açıklayıcı olmuş, elinize sağlık.
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: arkeine on February 01, 2021, 03:49:48 PM
I've done it and it perfectly works. Thanks once again.
I made a youtube video of it (gave links to your website and YT channel as well):
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: Remzi on February 03, 2021, 12:25:12 PM
Grand job mate.Nicely done.
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: kumlauf on March 25, 2021, 08:41:18 PM
Hi, I have a Datasette 1531 Board and some questions, hope u can help me here :)

1. Is this mod only working with datasette on C64 or is it also possible to use C16 Tap files?

2. At the moment I only can desolde some Caps out of my old mainboard, so is there a way to use an electrolytic cap with 50V / 10uF instead?

3. Is this here the right pic I can deal with? (https://www.load64.com/up/1531.jpg)

Thanks for ur help :)
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: Remzi on March 26, 2021, 10:21:00 AM
1.You can use it with C16 or VIC20.It works the same way as using tapes.
2.I don't think 10uf will work.You can find 100nf capacitors in old sound equipment like radios and PC speakers.You can also try 100K resistor instead of cap.
3.There are many different boards.You need to open up your datasette and compare the board with the ones on this topic.
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: PDrill on May 19, 2021, 07:26:48 PM
Hello

In the very first post there is this part 'LINE IN for RECORDING' (This mod is for recording games to cassette tapes.) and this is what I'm after. Just happens that my only Datassette with that board doesn't work, all I have is two of those MODE 1530 boards which can seen on the page 2 in post number 6 (Wakd21).

Now, anyone know where to make the connections to use that kind of Datassette for recording? Almost everything in this thread is about connecting to pins to be able to load games directly from a phone (or some other audio source) but I'm looking to record a tape.
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: ketsa on July 11, 2021, 02:10:16 PM

(https://i.ibb.co/X2ps2sB/Yc7UxJb.jpg) (https://ibb.co/X2ps2sB)


I managed to get good signal from that pin in the photo using a 100nf capacitor.You might also use a 100k resistor instead.

Hello all,

I have this exact same PCB in my datassette, I tried connecting a bluetooth receiver's output  to the "left" (with 100nf cap) and "GND" points mentionned in quoted post.

Sadly, it doesn't seem to work.
I use tapdancer to send the data from my mobile, the bluetooth adapter works fine.
the C64 doesn't find anything when i send data through tapdancer.

Here's a picture of what I did :

(https://i.ibb.co/pjypPDM/Bluetooth-Datassette.jpg) (https://ibb.co/pjypPDM)



1 - At first I forgot the 100nf cap, may I have broke something ?
2 - Does it matter what kind of cap is used ? electrolytic/film/tantalum... etc.
3 - any other idea ?  Do you guys see anything wrong in my setup ?
4 - Anyone else tested this spot labeled "left" connection with success ?

Tape still seems to work but I have no cassette to test it with.
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: Remzi on July 12, 2021, 11:33:02 AM
Capacitor is used for filtering the DC current.I don't think you have damaged anything.
Yout BT receivers power GND and the audio out GND might be isolated.It might stop if shorted.Try continuity test.
Does your phone have a 3.5mm audio jack? Try this mod without the BT receiver and make sure your datasette works.Don't try to run before you can walk  ;)
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: ketsa on July 12, 2021, 07:26:16 PM
While testing the BT receiver I found the problem : A small droplet of solder lodged between 2 smd capacitors on the receiver.

I can now confirm this connection is working, but loading from tape is very unreliable.

Some games load like 90% of the times, while other never load correctly.
I am testing with .tap files from privat.bahnhof.se, maybe their collection is unreliable ?

Thanks Remzi for answer.

My BLUEtooth datassette is finally working :

(https://i.ibb.co/zmNM0Kz/image.png) (https://ibb.co/zmNM0Kz)

 :)
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: Remzi on July 12, 2021, 10:04:31 PM
I tried a few BT receivers and also found them unreliable.
Try increasing the volume.It might help.
There might be an interference with another bluetooth device or your wifi router.

http://www.load64.com/up/justage.prg

Run the recorder justage program,if you see spots next to the lines,there is interference.
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: Gustavo on May 03, 2022, 05:00:18 AM
Hello, this is my first post here on Lemon64.
Last week I found my Commodore 64 with its datassette at my parent's house after more than 35 years, but the game tapes have been lost.
I have not stopped looking for a way to get games on tape without success, until I found this thread in the forum and the third option "LINE IN for RECORDING" is what I need to do.
The problem is that although the PCB of my datassette (Commodore clone, no brand) is 1531, I see some differences, such as the ground wire, the two ICs, etc.
I hope you can help me solder the jack to record tapes on the datassette, I leave here two images

(https://i.ibb.co/gd3c53V/IMG-20220502-230357.jpg) (https://ibb.co/gd3c53V)


(https://i.ibb.co/fF4nbkR/IMG-20220502-230749.jpg) (https://ibb.co/fF4nbkR)

Sorry for my grammar, I'm using google translate, sorry also for reviving this thread

Gracias
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: Gustavo on May 13, 2022, 09:13:40 PM
Hi, sorry for confusing Lemon64 with Load64 in my first post.
This morning I found a cassette with only one game: UFO, and it loaded, now I know the datassette works.
I was measuring with the tester and in the place where I indicate in the image it gives 0.24V, not 1.7V as I read above

(https://i.ibb.co/wrdF7mG/IMG-20220502-230357dup.jpg) (https://ibb.co/wrdF7mG)

Remzi advise me please
Title: Re: Unlock Your Datasette
Post by: Remzi on May 15, 2022, 02:33:18 PM
I couldn't find the datasette with that particular board.
I will search for the schematics but I can't promise.I don't have much spare time these days.
TinyPortal © 2005-2018