Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
August 08, 2022, 08:26:16 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent

Members
  • Total Members: 57
  • Latest: Snaj
Stats
  • Total Posts: 182
  • Total Topics: 37
  • Online Today: 13
  • Online Ever: 128
  • (August 21, 2018, 05:14:48 AM)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 8
Total: 8

8 Guests, 0 Users

Author Topic: Unlock Your Datasette  (Read 19246 times)

Offline backtogeek

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Unlock Your Datasette
« Reply #30 on: December 17, 2020, 09:39:15 AM »
I need to check my tape decks to find one with the same board.

Not sure if it helps, just now took a picture of the under side:



I can't even find a schematic for it here: http://www.zimmers.net/anonftp/pub/cbm/schematics/datassette/index.html

If there is another method of finding the pin I am happy to give it a try, I don't have an oscilloscope, I will make sure to share the answer here if/when I find it.
« Last Edit: December 17, 2020, 11:56:25 AM by backtogeek »

Offline Remzi

  • Administrator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 91
    • View Profile
Re: Unlock Your Datasette
« Reply #31 on: December 29, 2020, 04:21:44 PM »




I managed to get good signal from that pin in the photo using a 100nf capacitor.You might also use a 100k resistor instead.

Offline backtogeek

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Unlock Your Datasette
« Reply #32 on: December 30, 2020, 10:51:29 PM »




I managed to get good signal from that pin in the photo using a 100nf capacitor.You might also use a 100k resistor instead.

Brilliant, I really appreciate that!

I have plenty of 0.1uf electrolytic caps which seem to work fine also on other boards

Offline arkeine

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Unlock Your Datasette
« Reply #33 on: January 20, 2021, 05:18:08 PM »
merhaba
bu resimdeki bord resmini netten buldum. Bendeki bordun aynısı, yükle işlemini başarılı bir şekilde yaptım, fakat kasede kayıt yapmak için hangi pinlere lehim yapmam gerekiyor bulamadım.
Merhaba, eski bir c64 kullanıcısı olarak ben de bu modifikasyonu yapmaya çalışıyorum.
Yükleme işlemi için hangi lehim şemasını kullanacağız acaba? aynı board bende de var (1531).
Teşekkürler.

Offline arkeine

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Unlock Your Datasette
« Reply #34 on: January 20, 2021, 05:31:51 PM »




merhaba
bu resimdeki bord resmini netten buldum. Bendeki bordun aynısı, yükle işlemini başarılı bir şekilde yaptım, fakat kasede kayıt yapmak için hangi pinlere lehim yapmam gerekiyor bulamadım.
Merhaba, eski bir c64 kullanıcısı olarak ben de bu modifikasyonu yapmaya çalışıyorum.
Yükleme işlemi için hangi lehim şemasını kullanacağız acaba? aynı board bende de var (1531).
Teşekkürler.
kartın iki yüzünün fotoğraflarını da ekliyorum.

Offline Remzi

  • Administrator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 91
    • View Profile
Re: Unlock Your Datasette
« Reply #35 on: January 21, 2021, 12:59:47 PM »
Selam.Yapman gereken baglantilari asagidaki semada bulabilirsin.




Offline arkeine

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Unlock Your Datasette
« Reply #36 on: January 21, 2021, 04:41:09 PM »
Çok teşekkürler, kondansatörü edinir edinmez deneyeceğim.
Video da açıklayıcı olmuş, elinize sağlık.

Offline arkeine

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Unlock Your Datasette
« Reply #37 on: February 01, 2021, 03:49:48 PM »
I've done it and it perfectly works. Thanks once again.
I made a youtube video of it (gave links to your website and YT channel as well):

Offline Remzi

  • Administrator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 91
    • View Profile
Re: Unlock Your Datasette
« Reply #38 on: February 03, 2021, 12:25:12 PM »
Grand job mate.Nicely done.

Offline kumlauf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Unlock Your Datasette
« Reply #39 on: March 25, 2021, 08:41:18 PM »
Hi, I have a Datasette 1531 Board and some questions, hope u can help me here :)

1. Is this mod only working with datasette on C64 or is it also possible to use C16 Tap files?

2. At the moment I only can desolde some Caps out of my old mainboard, so is there a way to use an electrolytic cap with 50V / 10uF instead?

3. Is this here the right pic I can deal with?

Thanks for ur help :)

Offline Remzi

  • Administrator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 91
    • View Profile
Re: Unlock Your Datasette
« Reply #40 on: March 26, 2021, 10:21:00 AM »
1.You can use it with C16 or VIC20.It works the same way as using tapes.
2.I don't think 10uf will work.You can find 100nf capacitors in old sound equipment like radios and PC speakers.You can also try 100K resistor instead of cap.
3.There are many different boards.You need to open up your datasette and compare the board with the ones on this topic.

Offline PDrill

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Unlock Your Datasette
« Reply #41 on: May 19, 2021, 07:26:48 PM »
Hello

In the very first post there is this part 'LINE IN for RECORDING' (This mod is for recording games to cassette tapes.) and this is what I'm after. Just happens that my only Datassette with that board doesn't work, all I have is two of those MODE 1530 boards which can seen on the page 2 in post number 6 (Wakd21).

Now, anyone know where to make the connections to use that kind of Datassette for recording? Almost everything in this thread is about connecting to pins to be able to load games directly from a phone (or some other audio source) but I'm looking to record a tape.

Offline ketsa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Unlock Your Datasette
« Reply #42 on: July 11, 2021, 02:10:16 PM »




I managed to get good signal from that pin in the photo using a 100nf capacitor.You might also use a 100k resistor instead.

Hello all,

I have this exact same PCB in my datassette, I tried connecting a bluetooth receiver's output  to the "left" (with 100nf cap) and "GND" points mentionned in quoted post.

Sadly, it doesn't seem to work.
I use tapdancer to send the data from my mobile, the bluetooth adapter works fine.
the C64 doesn't find anything when i send data through tapdancer.

Here's a picture of what I did :





1 - At first I forgot the 100nf cap, may I have broke something ?
2 - Does it matter what kind of cap is used ? electrolytic/film/tantalum... etc.
3 - any other idea ?  Do you guys see anything wrong in my setup ?
4 - Anyone else tested this spot labeled "left" connection with success ?

Tape still seems to work but I have no cassette to test it with.
« Last Edit: July 11, 2021, 02:45:16 PM by ketsa »

Offline Remzi

  • Administrator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 91
    • View Profile
Re: Unlock Your Datasette
« Reply #43 on: July 12, 2021, 11:33:02 AM »
Capacitor is used for filtering the DC current.I don't think you have damaged anything.
Yout BT receivers power GND and the audio out GND might be isolated.It might stop if shorted.Try continuity test.
Does your phone have a 3.5mm audio jack? Try this mod without the BT receiver and make sure your datasette works.Don't try to run before you can walk  ;)

Offline ketsa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Unlock Your Datasette
« Reply #44 on: July 12, 2021, 07:26:16 PM »
While testing the BT receiver I found the problem : A small droplet of solder lodged between 2 smd capacitors on the receiver.

I can now confirm this connection is working, but loading from tape is very unreliable.

Some games load like 90% of the times, while other never load correctly.
I am testing with .tap files from privat.bahnhof.se, maybe their collection is unreliable ?

Thanks Remzi for answer.

My BLUEtooth datassette is finally working :



 :)

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018